The Protected Folder is a special folder located at the top of the folders list.
It behaves like a regular folder, so you can edit its name and save or delete contacts inside it.
However, the folder itself can't be deleted.

Pro tip
You can use this folder as an intermediate work folder to add contacts before moving them to other folders or send contacts via any SalesQL integration to third-party products, especially when working in a team.